RPG vs MMORPG

logosThis has been a long standing head-scratcher for me – which is better, RPG or MMORPG? In short, do I prefer to play alone or with others? Laugh all you want, but I can’t seem to make up my mind.

I’ll admit my general ignorance at presuming that World of Warcraft was an online version of the real-time strategy game I learned to hate, but when I discovered that you were actually a single character immersed in a world with like-minded gamers, well, it was D&D all over again! It did Neverwinter Nights one step better, however with one caveat – subscription fees.

I’m a cheap bastard, plain and simple. I’m the guy who waits for all of the hype to die down after a new game release, then goes and buys it for the discounted pseudo-gouging price. I love games and will play them several times as good, evil and neutral characters in different genders, races and classes (although I always seem to settle on Female Rangers – I don’t know why, ask my shrink). I relish in the hours of game play and the subtle nuances of the different approaches and will play them obsessively for a month and then forget about them for three more.

It is this last point that makes it hard for me to swallow the concept of subscription fees. If it were set up to log time spent in game-play rather than paying for a calendar month, I might get on board. Hell, maybe it does and I’m speaking out of my O-ring, but I’m not going to sign up for a month’s worth of a game time that I’ll spend a few hours a week playing.

What’s your opinion? Are MMORPGs worth the dough, or am I just being a curmudgeonly old git? If you love them, tell me why. Please. I want to like them, they are so pretty and have all of that nice animation – Game-on!

~ by oblivionrising on August 26, 2009.

One Response to “RPG vs MMORPG”

  1. I’ve enjoyed playing WoW for a while, but I’m getting tired of it. It’s at a point right now where everybody has a character at the highest level and you will spend a LOT of time playing by yourself before you hit it. I’m thinking of giving it up to play single player RPG’s, possibly Fable actually. If you can only play a few hours a week then I wouldn’t bother. You’re probably better off playing games you can take your time with, and don’t feel like you’re wasting your money if you don’t spend enough time with it week to week.

    See you on the NaNo boards!

Leave a Reply

 
